Jump to main content

A.M. and Jo Winchester Distinguished Scholar Award

The A.M. and Jo Winchester Distinguished Scholar Award is given annually to a scholar at the rank of associate professor or higher who has demonstrated continued excellence in scholarly activity for at least five years. The award comes with a $2,000 monetary award and the designation, for the rest of the honoree’s time at UNC, of A.M. and Jo Winchester Distinguished Professor. 

Nominations for the award are accepted for consideration by the FRPB in the Fall semester every year and may be submitted by any UNC faculty or professional staff member. Persons nominated in previous years but not selected can be nominated again. 

In brief, activities on which nominees will be evaluated include evidence of Research, Scholarship and Creative Works (RSCW), recognition by peers within a discipline; service on boards or holding office; and grant and contract activity. 

A. M. and Jo Winchester Distinguished Scholar Awardees

2022 David Hulac School Psychology
2021 Karen Barton Geography & GIS
2020 Sarah Goodrum Criminology and Criminal Justice
2019 Joseph French Finance
2018 Deanna K. Meinke Communication Sciences & Disorders
2017 Florence M. Guido Higher Education and Student Affairs Leadership
2015 William D. Woody Psychological Sciences
2014 Steven Anderson Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
2013 Rick Adams Biological Sciences
2012 Janice M. Payan Marketing
2011 Johathan D. Bellman Music
2010 Jose I. Suarez Hispanic Studies
2009 James A. Keaten Communications
2008 Reid Hayward Sport & Exercise Science
2007 Achilles Bardos School Psychology
2006 James Reardon Marketing
2005 Robert Brunswig Anthropology
2004 Daniel Rowley Business
2003 Philip Reichel Criminal Justice
2002 Thomas A. Bredehoft English
2001 Kay Ferrell Special Education
2000 Robert Brustad Kinesiology
2000 Gray Barrier Music
pre-2000   Please visit the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs