Jump to main content

M. Lucile Harrison Award

  • 2019 Jose Suarez
  • 2018 Heather Pendleton-Helm
  • 2017 Lewis Jackson
  • 2016 Tom McNally 
  • 2015 Faye Hummel 
  • 2014 Kay Ferrell 
  • Full List of Past Recipients

M. Lucille Harrison

The M. Lucile Harrison Award is the most prestigious award given to faculty at UNC. Established to honor the legacy of M. Lucile Harrison, this award recognizes current faculty members who have embodied "professional excellency" in all three areas of faculty work: teaching; research, scholarship, and creative works (RSCW); and service throughout their careers. This award honors a lifetime of achievement, and recipients are faculty members who have distinguished themselves as outstanding teachers and respected scholars who have also made significant service contributions to higher education. It is these accomplishments which marked the career of M. Lucile Harrison.

To be eligible for the M. Lucile Harrison Award, a faculty member must have at least 10 years of service at UNC and hold the rank of full professor.

Nominations may be sent at any time, though the selection process occurs during spring semesters. Colleagues or students may nominate a candidate by submitting a letter of nomination that details the lifetime achievements and excellence of their nominee in the areas of teaching, professional activity (RSCW), and service. Achievement should be appropriate to the teacher-scholar model at UNC, where a majority of faculty time is devoted to teaching. The strongest candidates will be supported by multiple nominations; this can be documented through nomination letters with multiple signatories, or via multiple nomination letters submitted by separate individuals or groups.

Upon receiving a nomination letter, the M. Lucile Harrison Award Committee will pull an interactive CV for the nominee, review the nomination letter(s), and determine what additional evidence, if any, is appropriate. The committee will be responsible for gathering any additional information but will reach out to nominees, as needed. 

Nomination letters may be emailed to provost.office@unco.edu or forwarded to the Office of the Provost, Campus Box 9. The deadline for nominations for AY 2023-2024 is Monday, April 8, 2024.

Please contact the Office of the Provost at 1-2305 with any questions.