Jump to main content

Fall 2023 Election

We're thrilled to share some fantastic news with you! The Student Government Association is actively seeking dedicated individuals like YOU to join our team as class senators. 

Are you bursting with fresh ideas and eager to be a catalyst for positive change on our campus? Now is the time to step up and make your mark. We believe in your potential and are excited to see your vision come to life!

Join us on this incredible journey as we work together to create a brighter, more vibrant future for our student community. Don't hesitate; seize this opportunity and apply today.

Let's make a difference—together!

This is your golden opportunity to become a vital part of our student community and play a pivotal role in shaping its future. Here's what you need to know:

Application Deadline:Act fast! Submit your application packet by September 19 at 5 p.m.. Don't miss out on the chance to be the voice of your fellow students.

What's in Store: As a class senator, you'll have the privilege of planning and executing exciting campus events and, most importantly, advocating for the needs and concerns of our diverse student body.

🗳Voting Opens: Mark your calendars for September 20 when voting begins. This is your moment to shine and make a real difference!

Special Election Information

The Constitution and structure update PASSED 157 to 12 and your Student Government Association wants to thank everyone who voted on the snow day!

The new Constitution provides more students with access to elected positions, effectively represents the student body, and establishes a more sustainable form of government.  The Constitution and organizational structure increases the number of Senators from 15 to 25 and establishes three (3) independent branches of the government.

For more information please review:

Student Government Association

The Student Government Association (SGA) is a governing body dedicated to serving the students of UNC. It is composed of 23 members: 8 cabinet members and 15 senators (3 from each college at UNC). Members of other areas of campus also sit on senate including representatives from the Professional Administrative Staff Council, Faculty Senate, Classified Staff Council, and Graduate Student Association. 

Members of the SGA serve as advocates for students' voices to the Administration, Board of Trustees, Shared Governance Groups and other campus groups. 

If you are interested in speaking at a SGA meeting, please contact Chief of Staff Jazmin Martinez with the following information; name, organization/group, overall purpose for speaking at SGA, and any documents or presentation materials you would like to share. A confirmation email will be sent after you have reach out, and you must make sure to have contacted the Chief of Staff by 5pm on Tuesdays.

Fall 2023 Meeting Calendar

Regular Meeting Dates & Remote Access
Meetings held in-person every Wednesday during the full academic semester at 5:30 p.m. in the University Center, Council Room.

If you have questions about accessing SGA Meetings remotely, please reach out to SGA Chief of Staff Jazmin Martinez.