Jump to main content

Neal Cross Lecture Series

The Neal Cross Lecture Series was established through a bequest from Neal Cross, a Professor in the Department of English from 1941 until 1979. The fund is used to sponsor visits by guest lecturers, writers-in-residence, and other cultural events.

The Neal Cross Lecture Series has included a number of well-known scholars, writers, filmmakers, and activists, including the following:

  • Isabel Allende
  • Margaret Atwood
  • Houston Baker
  • James Baldwin
  • Barbara Christian
  • Mary Daly
  • Mary Ann Doane
  • Harlan Ellison
  • Carolyn Forché
  • Gerald Graff
  • Donna Haraway
  • E. Ann Kaplan
  • Maxine Hong Kingston
  • Annette Kolodny
  • Mario Vargas Llosa
  • Rigoberta Menchu
  • Trinh T. Minh-ha
  • Tim O’Brien
  • Sharon Olds
  • Chris Paine
  • Judith Roof
  • Bienvenido Santos
  • Gary Snyder
  • Terry Tempest Williams

Upcoming Neal Cross Events

Please stay tuned for details about upcoming events.

Program areas in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences may apply for funds to bring speakers to UNC’s campus. For information and application materials, please contact Lisa Zimmerman.

For information about upcoming events, contact the Department of English at (970) 351-2707.